

EUROPAN 18 EUROPAN SUOMI-FINLAND

Hämeentie 19 A, FI-00500 Helsinki - FINLAND t +358 40 163 6025 info@europan.fi www.europan.fi English, Finnish 9:00-16:00, Monday to Friday

NATIONAL SECRETARIAT Kirsti Rantanen, architect SAFA, Secretary General

MEMBERSHIP OF THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE

President	Pia Sjöroos, architect SAFA
Members	Markku Hedman, architect SAFA
	Jenni Lautso, architect SAFA
	Jenni Poutanen, architect SAFA,
	llkka Törmä, architect SAFA

Member of the European Council

Pia Sjöroos, architect SAFA, president of Europan Suomi Finland

SITES AND PRIZES AVAILABLE

2 sites: Lahti, Turku 4 prizes: 2 winners, 2 runners-up + special mentions.

PUBLICITY FOR THE EUROPAN 18 COMPETITION

National Europan website: europan.fi Facebook : Europan Suomi Finland Instagram: @europanfinland Via Finnish Association of Architects SAFA: Architectural Magazine; website safa.fi, Faccebook, Instagram & LinkedIn; digital news & competition bulletins of SAFA, press releases.

Personal invitations to the opening event by e-mail to all potential participants in Finland (architects under 40 years).

LEGAL PROVISIONS FOR FOREIGN ARCHITECTS

A registration in some EU country for the right to practise as an architect is needed from the beginning of 2025. The building permit processes are conducted in Finnish or Swedish.

The most important legislation controlling land use, spatial planning and construction in Finland is contained in the Land Use and Building Acts (Building act revised in 1.1.2025) and the complementing decrees. The National Building Code contains regulations and guidelines that complement the legislation in the Land Use and Building Act. More information: www.ymparisto.fi

PUBLICATIONS FOR THE EUROPAN COMPETITIONS

RESULTS

EUROPAN 4 EUROPAN 5 EUROPAN 6 – with Europan Eesti, Europan Sverige EUROPAN 7 – with Europan Eesti, Europan Latvia, Europan Sverige EUROPAN 8 – with Europan Latvia, Europan Sverige EUROPAN 9 – with Europan Sverige, Europan Eesti, Europan Latvia EUROPAN 10 EUROPAN 11 EUROPAN 12 EUROPAN 13 EUROPAN 14 EUROPAN 15 EUROPAN 17

Implementations / Buildings

EUROPAN 4 – Implementation Vaasa, Koy Pikiruukki, 2003 EUROPAN 6 – Implementation Jyväskylä - Skanska Talonrakennus Oy, 2005 EUROPAN 8 – Implementations Kuopio - Skanska Kodit Oy, 2015 and 2015

20 years 10 competitions in Finland – Europan: The effects and effectiveness of an international architecture competition in Finland.

IMPLEMENTATIONS

Europan 4

HELSINKI - Mladen Jadric, Nevil Selimic & Kemal Hasibovic (CH), Winner. Commission for further design work. Process stopped. VAASA – Pentti Kareoja (FI), Runner-up. Commission for architectural design and implementation. Client: City of Vaasa and Koy Pikipruukki. Project implemented and completed in 2000.

TAMPERE. Neil Armitage, James Brewster & Sandra Woodsford (UK), Winner. Commission for further design work. Process finished.

Europan 5

TURKU – Bart van der Velde & Pascal Grosfeld (NL), Winner. Commission for further design work. Process finished.

Europan 6

JYVÄSKYLÄ, AINOLANRANTA – Tuomas Hakala, Joakim Kettunen, Olli Sarlin, Marja Sopanen & Katariina Vuorio (FI), Winner. Commission for urban design and implementation of 5 row houses. Client: City of Jyväskylä and construction company Skanska Talonrakennus Oy. Project implemented and completed in 2004.

JYVÄSKYLÄ, ÄIJÄLÄNRANTA – Cristina Diaz Moreno & Efrén Garcia Grinda (ES), Winner. Commission for further urban design work. Process stopped.

OULU – Teemu Kurkela & Katarina Sewón (FI), Winner. Commission for further design work for the detailed plan and guidance for the implementation work, incl. detailed plans, facades for the new housing. Process finished.

Europan 7

PORI – Hermandez Garcia Blanca, Hernandez, Sebastian Guivernau, Julio Oloriz Marin & Valerio Canals Revilla (ES), Winner. Process finished.

Europan 8

LAHTI – Petri Saarelainen & Teemu Seppälä (FI), Winner. Commission for further design work. Process finished.

KEMI –Janne Kangasvieri & Timo Ahonen (FI), Winner. Commission for further design work. Process finished.

KUOPIO – Paula Julin, Katja, Maununaho (FI), Laura Vara, Jesperi Vara & Ulla Seppä, Runner-up. Commission for a detailed plan for the municipality. Two block of flats on two plots implemented and completed in 2012 and 2015; client Skanska Kodit Oy.

Europan 9

VANTAA – Vesa Oiva, Selina Anttinen & Antti Lehto (FI), Runner-up. Commission for further urban design work. Process finished.

Europan 10

TAMPERE – Selina Anttinen, Vesa Oiva, Jussi Kalliopuska & Karoliina Hartiala (FI), Winner. Commission for further urban design work. Process finished.

Europan 11

TURKU – Sami Vikström (FI), Winner. A study of detail plan for the municipality. No further development because the detailed plan was not feasible in the economic sense.

Europan 12

HELSINKI – Jonna Taegen & Kia Taegen (FI), Winner. many commissions for further design work for the municipality, also for many other similar projects. Process finished.

Europan 13

JYVÄSKYLÄ – Jarrik Ouburg (NL), Maciej Abramczyk (PL) & Freyke Hartemink (NL), Winner. A study of a detail plan for the municipality. Process finished.

Europan 14

HELSINKI – Lotta Kindberg, Nea Tuominen & Rachel Murray (FI), Winner. Commission for a study of detail plan for the municipality.

TORNIO-HAPARANDA – Vilma Autio, Maija Parviainen & Hanna Kuivalainen (FI), Winner. Commission for a study of detail plan for the municipality. Process finished.

Europan 15

HYVINKÄÄ – Laura Huerga Cadenas (ES) & Pablo Magán Uceda (ES), Winner. Commission by the municipality for visions and alternatives studies for one hotspot area in order to develop the master plan The runner-up Lassi Mustonen (FI) got to study two hotspot areas.

TUUSULA – Joana Gil Ribeiro (PT) & Rui Cunha (PT), Winner. Commission for study of detail plan and a circular economy concept for the municipality. Probably no further development. Commission also for the runner-up team - Natalia Vera Vigaray (ES), Agnes Jacquin (FR), Alexandra Jansen (PL), Emmanuel Laux (DE), Patxi Martín Domínguez (ES) ja Josep Garriga Tarrés (ES) - for a development plan report for the lakeside and its structures; design and implementation for the first leisure structure 2021.

Europan 17

HELSINKI – Benedikt Hartl (DE), winner & Saara Kantele & Paul Pot (FI), runnerup. Commission for the implementation project should be made in the spring 2025

VAASA – Justo Diaz & Guillermo Pozo (ES), winner. Commission for the detailed plan studies should be made during 2025.