E14 Sites - Zwickau (DE)

Productive Spaces Between Old Town & Mulde River

Site Location Zwickau, Eastern old town
Project Scales L/S - urban & architectural
Site Family From City to Productive City
Post-competition phase Urban- and landscape-planning development concept and building planning

See the site page here
See here the map of the different sites

How Can the Site Contribute to the Productive City? 
The aim is to transform the mono-functional residential use of the existing 5- and 11-storey prefabricated buildings of the Eastern city centre into mixed-use districts. Connections to the Western historical city centre should be created by means of total or partial demolition. The public space system in the city centre should be enhanced […] The principle of separating work and residences should be broken open and be replaced by the city of short routes. The goal of a mixed-use city with short distances and high-quality architecture and public spaces is the central idea.

Back to top